Earthcache Denial - FYI

Tell us whatever you're thinking about geocaching.

Moderator: Moderator

Earthcache Denial - FYI

Postby wvangler on Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:20 pm

I have been working feverishly for two months to develop an Earthcache at a very cool site in the MNF near the scenic highway. It was to be called "Death from the sky, Life from a bucket". It was my hope to develop the cache at the site where each year the WV DNR and WV Trout Unlimited form a 1/4 mile long bucket brigade to haul 9 tons of limestone sand one bucket at a time to a dump site in an ephemeral ditch feeding the Middle Fork of Williams River. The Middle Fork has been dead from acid rain since the middle of the 20th century and through the efforts of TU and the DNR at this site this famous stream is now coming back to life (we found young of the year native brook trout this spring for the first time ever).

Even though I put a lot of emphasis on the underlying geology of the area and highlighted why acid rain affects different watersheds differently and even though I highlighted how acid precipitation is created, I had to revise numerous times before getting approval from the Earthcache reviewer. He thought it sounded too biological even with all the geology crocheted through the description and the requirements. But ultimately, I was able to get approval from the reviewer.