CacheMaps

Here we can post any and all threads containing useful information pertaining to Geocaching or other subjects

CacheMaps

Postby Knight who says Ni on Mon Sep 15, 2008 2:14 pm

While surfing Crackberry.com, I came across this link: http://www.cachemaps.com/Downloads.php

Does anyone know if this program is any good?
Adventure is a romantic name for trouble. ~Louis L'Amour
Knight who says Ni

Re: CacheMaps

Postby scoutingwv on Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:06 pm

Wondering if you ever tried this program or if you just decided to use Blackstar instead?
scoutingwv

Postby Knight who says Ni on Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:18 pm

I ended up going with Blackstar. It takes forever to get a lock, but then works really well. SSPG has had much better luck with the lock due to her hollex gps receiver. Evidently, I need to invest in one of those! :grin:
Knight who says Ni

Postby moneytastesbad on Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:33 pm

Ive been using blackstar for a few months (since Sept). I did my first 4 caches with it. It is pretty good. The problem is getting the damn GPSr in the blackberry to lock in. I just recently got the Vista HCx, and I don't see myself using BlackStar anymore. But I do really like CacheBerry.
moneytastesbad

Postby Knight who says Ni on Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:50 am

moneytastesbad wrote:Ive been using blackstar for a few months (since Sept). I did my first 4 caches with it. It is pretty good. The problem is getting the damn GPSr in the blackberry to lock in.

I have had the same problem. SSPG said with her receiver, Blackstar locks in a few minutes. Sounds good to me!
Knight who says Ni

Postby scoutingwv on Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:02 am

Haven't checked to see if the OS upgrades change any of the GPS functionality or not. Which model Blackberry do you guys have? Mine is an 8830.
scoutingwv

Postby Spotty Spotty Pony Girl on Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:37 am